The Wedding

My general rule is to never read anything by Nicholas Sparks. His books are all the same. Someone always dies. It’s not a happy formula. Yes, their lives are forever altered by the one who was sacrificed for the sake of the story, but still. It’s depressing. I think his only really good book was The Notebook, the rest just make you want to kill yourself.

Or so I thought.

A friend told me I had to read The Wedding, a sequel of sorts to The Notebook. Since that was the only book of his I liked, I was willing to give it a shot.

I’m glad I did.

Wilson and Jane (Noah and Allie’s daughter) have been married for 30 years. Over the years he provided well for his family physically but wasn’t really present emotionally. Wilson let Jane run the house and he ran his law practice. On the eve of their daughter’s wedding he tries to rekindle her feelings for him afraid he is going to lose her.

The story is beautiful. The sentiment feels genuine. I forgot that one of the things I like about Sparks is that he tells the love story from the man’s point of view. We get to see his emotions and thoughts. A simply put the story is beautiful. Reminds you that the best relationships require work and care. We can’t take each other for granted.

It’s a beautiful story told in the spirit of The Notebook.

About Marti

After a year-long sabbatical in Southern California I am returning to Ohio to try and resume my life. Who knew you went home again to start living.

Posted on September 11, 2010, in Reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

