“Living” in LA

For the next few weeks I will be “living” in Los Angeles. I’m going to be house sitting for friends who are traveling. It will be the first time in five years I’ve lived alone. And the first time in 10 years that I’ve lived in LA.

Yikes, what will I do with sole possession of the living space? No idea.

Today, the first day, I’ve kind of just wandered around not really knowing what to do with myself.

I decided I needed food, so I went grocery shopping at Trader Joe’s, which really just reminded me why I left LA in the first place. It was CRAZY busy. And by crazy I mean the aisles were so packed that you had to leave your cart at the end and squeeze your way through, then push your way close to the shelves. People were shoulder-to-shoulder stacked in there. I was beginning to wonder if I missed some news story about an impending doom which would require lots of canned goods and water, of which there were practically none in the store.

Another favorite in LA is the parking situation. First I had to drive around for about 10 minutes just to find an open space about three miles away from the door. Then, I had to pay to park at the grocery store. It was a measly $2 but still, really. I wouldn’t have been in there so long if it weren’t so crazy.

Anyway, it wasn’t all bad. The house is quiet. I got to cook my own lunch. I also made a list of things I want to see and do while I’m here in LA, such as the Descanso Gardens, Palisades Park, Grand Central Market, etc. Should be interesting.

I’m also hoping to really define what kind of job it is that I’m looking for. I figure that’s kind of important as I move forward in my search. Lately I’ve been finding that I just stare listly at the openings, not really excited about anything.

So I need to answer the all important question, what do I want? I have no idea right now. I’m at least starting to think about it instead of repeating former patterns of just taking the first thing that comes along and sliding from the frying pan, right into the fire.  So I’m trying to be reflective, informational and using all resources at my fingertips. Yea, we’ll see.

About Marti

After a year-long sabbatical in Southern California I am returning to Ohio to try and resume my life. Who knew you went home again to start living.

Posted on April 26, 2010, in Friendshipping and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

