Trip Back Update

WOW! We are half way through the trip. How did that happen? It has flown by. So crazy.

On our way out of Canton we went to Monument Park to see the McKinley Memorial. It seemed to take forever to get out of town. I don’t even really remember why. LOL.

We stopped in Indiana for me to say goodbye to my grandma. We spent the night with her and were treated to my favorite dinner and dessert. Jojo came down from Chicago to hang with us as we talked, laughed and ate.

Our next big stop was in Springfield, IL. We wanted to explore the land of Lincoln. We only had a few hours to spend there so we went to the Lincoln Presidential Library primarily and then drove around town and did some drive-by siteseeing of the Dana-Thomas house, Lincoln home and burial site. If I go back I want to go to the Museum of Funeral Customs. Seriously. I think that will be interesting.

Friday nite we stopped in Kansas City, KS. Saturday morning Debbie and I went to the International House of Prayer to enjoy the prayer room, then we tooled around the city a bit, ate some BBQ at Jack Stack, which was phenomenal. If you’re ever in the area I recommend the brisket and the spinach salad. Fantastic. On Sunday we went to see Union Station, the Kansas Star building and the Kansas City Museum. Really great architecture and a slice of local history.

The drive from Kansas through to Texas is a long one. The road is dreary, desolate and boring. Felt like we were on it for about ever.

We arrived in Dallas last night and today I am hanging out with Tina, my former roommate who now lives here. We toured through many neighborhoods of Dallas like Preston Hollow, Highland Park, and Lewisville. Even though it was raining we had a fantastic day finding fun new places like Cultured Cup for yummy chocolates, cocoa and homemade marshmallows. We even discovered a pasta factory called Holy Ravioli. We tasted chicken quesadilla ravioli with chipotle cream sauce. It was mouthgasmic! I could take a bath in that sauce. So good!! They hand made all pasta on site. I enjoyed the tour, view of gold buildings, and see all of the neighbors both old and new.

So far, Debbie and I have traversed to seven states: Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, and Texas. Going through Kansas and Oklahoma was the worst, so flat, so boring, nothing to see or do.

Fun trip so far! No time to stop and think about anything, which is both good and bad. At some point everything will hit me. Not sure when.

About Marti

After a year-long sabbatical in Southern California I am returning to Ohio to try and resume my life. Who knew you went home again to start living.

Posted on March 8, 2010, in Friendshipping, Mi Familia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

