Dream of Clean Refrigerators

I could not sleep last night to save my life. I laid there forever, then I gave up and decided to watch some hulu. I caught up on old episodes of Bones, it was good.

At about 5:30 a.m. I started to get sleepy. Finally.

Yet, I had quite the productive night’s sleep in dreamland.

I dreamed that I was at my grandpa’s house. Now he died in 2006, but in my dream he was alive. He was in bed, but I had the feeling that he was doing well. He was also remarried. My grandma died in 1996. My grandpa was always a ladies man, so it wasn’t a shock he was remarried. But what shocked me was who he was married to, a large black woman that looked a bit like Whoopi Goldberg. What I remember most are her dreads.

Another shocker is that the house was clean. My grandpa was a pack rat. He could throw nothing away. He had closets and closets full of clothes. He always had three or four loaves of day-old bread from the bakery outlet, along with tons of dented cans, and frozen meat that was reduced for quick sale. While he was very generous with whatever he had, it made his house messy.

But in my dream the house was immaculate. It was freshly painted. Everything was organized. Yet the bulk of my dream centered in the kitchen. The cupboards were organized, newly lined and all the dishes were new. I remember opening the refrigerator and it was so clean and pretty empty. There was lots of room in there for new food.

Grandpa’s new wife and I never spoke but I could feel her gentleness and kindness. I stood in the kitchen with her looking at everything.

Overall it was a very pleasant, happy, warm fuzzy dream. I was never afraid. It was just peaceful.

But of course I want to know what it all means. I was pondering that when I woke up at 1 p.m. Then I remember a dream I had two years ago, ironically about the past. The jist of the dream is that I couldn’t move forward until I cleared about the past, all in dreamy metaphorical terms.

Now, I’ve made the decision to move on and I wonder if my sub-conscious concurs. I have dealt with the past. I am at a point when I am truly ready to move forward.

What I also thought about was the image of God the Father that is in The Shack. He is portrayed as a large black woman who comes in that form to shake the lead character’s view of him, to give him a new perspective of God and how He interacts with people.  I was so comforted by the presence of this woman. I’m not saying it was God, just reminded me of that.

So I’m taking the dream as something good. Dreammoods says the kitchen is about warmth and nurture and represents transformation. Bring it on. I’m ready for something good, warm and nurturing.

About Marti

After a year-long sabbatical in Southern California I am returning to Ohio to try and resume my life. Who knew you went home again to start living.

Posted on January 24, 2010, in Dreaming and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

