Hope in Job Searching

My job search in CA, among a few other places, has begun.

Searching in this economy is scary indeed. I’ve heard that it will be hard to find something. Some have even gone as far to say good luck finding anything you’ll probably end up working in retail or fast food.

I agree that I will need to be aggressive, think outside the box and rely heavily on my network, but I REFUSE to believe its hopeless. God provides in one way or another. I have learned that it might not look like I thought it would, but it will be what I need. I still think we are allowed to follow our hearts. We can dream. We can hope. We don’t have to take positions that will drive us into depression or the corner singing Jimmy crack corn.

I will admit that I do have some luxury over others in that I don’t have a mortgage. I don’t have to support kids. I only have to worry about me and believe me, my life is stripped down right now. There are few luxuries. It’s a tight ship.

But after two years of consulting and freelancing here in Ohio I know that I’m ok without a regular paycheck. I can look for other more risky situations. That isn’t something I would have said before I moved here. It hasn’t been easy. I have had to cut out a lot. But I’m ok. I have spent a lifetime doing things I didn’t want to do to be safe, cautious and secure. It’s not living. You have to follow your passion.

I’m not going to be ridiculous and wait for the golden egg, but I will NOT settle. I can’t. I’ve come to far. I reject all notion that I will fail. I’m saying it outloud, for me.

So the research has begun for cities thriving in the recession. I’ve even read that marketing management is  listed as a position in demand. So whi-hoo.

So if you hear of any good marketing positions, let me know.

About Marti

After a year-long sabbatical in Southern California I am returning to Ohio to try and resume my life. Who knew you went home again to start living.

Posted on January 23, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

