Musings on 2009

2009 was a hard year. It was full of change.

“People are always saying that change is a good thing. All they are really saying is something you didn’t want to happen at all, is happening.” – Kathleen Kelly, You’ve Got Mail (1998). I turned on the tv to this movie and this exact quote  as I started writing this post, so I had to include it.

It was my second year in Ohio, which saw the separation and divorce of my parents. So we have all been muddling through, finding strength we didn’t know we had and learning a new way to live as a family. The road has not been smooth and it’s not over. We have a lot healing to do, the forging of new pathways and connections with each other and others.

But this year was also about more than “Le Divorce.” I traveled, saw friends, and got more into chocolate making finding my own flavors and blends. I also got to spend loads of time with my nephews and take them on day trips. They are my continual delight and joy.

Here’s a brief rundown of the year:

Feb – Went to Chicago to visit my favorite cousin, Jojo. We did a whirlwind tour of Chicago including a trip to Millenium Park to see designs by Frank Gehry. My favorite part was all of the time we got to spend talking. He is more like a brother than a cousin. I adore him!

Mar – Returned to CA for two weeks to gain sanity, perspective and a time to be with my support system, the friends that are my family. I went to all my favorite places and saw all of my favorite people. It was amazingly wonderful.

Apr – Started a podcast with my brother called The Mike and Marti Show. (mmcs.typepad.com). Our change to spend time together, discuss our issues and explore topics like spirituality, the church, family, purpose, and anything else we find interesting with acerbic wit.

May – Finally saw Grease on the big screen and in my pajamas.

June – My second summer with my nephews

July – Discovered my favorite Aunt has cancer and saw her exhibit true strength, character, integrity and perseverance.

Dec – Had a wonderful 35th birthday!

I look forward to 2010 with expectation and wonder, hoping for the best!

About Marti

After a year-long sabbatical in Southern California I am returning to Ohio to try and resume my life. Who knew you went home again to start living.

Posted on January 1, 2010, in About Me and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

