My Top 10 Christmas Movies

When it comes to Christmas I turn into a giant sentimental, nostalgic, emotional sapp. It’s true. It is the one time of year where I put all of my cynicism and resentment aside and embrace the joy and hope that comes in the form of a wee small baby.

I love to bake, decorate, give gifts, see lights, attend sing-a-longs and watch really cheesy holiday movies on Lifetime. Yes, I am that kind of Christmas loving freak.

When I was a kid, my favorite tradition was when, as a family, we would decorate the tree. My dad and brother were in charge of the lights and my mom and I did the cookies. We all put on ornaments and listened to Christmas tunes. I think the last time we did this together was when I was around 16. I remember being sad when the tradition stopped.

As I got older I created my own Christmas traditions with friends. We would make pilgrimages to see Christmas lights in all of the forms from the elegant and grand to the simple and modest.  LOVE IT!

So in honor of all things reverent and irreverant that I love about the Christmas holiday, here is my top 10 list of favorite Christmas (Holiday) movies, in no particular order.

1. White Christmas (1954) – Bing  Crosby, Rosemary Clooney, Danny Kaye. A fantastic score. Who could ask for anything more?

2. Scrooged (1988) – Bill Murray retelling of this classic tale in a way only he can. Love Carol Kane as the Ghost of Christmas present

3.  A Christmas Story (1983) – takes place right here in Cleveland, OH. You can even visit the house where it was filmed, but don’t shoot your eye out. Buy one of the leg lamps instead.

4. Meet in St. Louis (1944) – Judy Garland – Tales of a family

5. The Shop Around the Corner(1940) – Jimmy Stewart, Margaret Sullivan. The basis for You’ve Got Mail.

6. Love Actually (2003) – Hugh Grant, Liam Neeson, Kiera Knightly, Emma Thompson.

7. The Bishop’s Wife (1947) – Nothing says holidays like a guardian angel named Cary Grant.

8. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (1989) – Chevy Chase, Classic Griswold story of Christmas gone awry. Love it!

9. Miracle on 34th Street (1947) and (1994) both versions are great!

10. Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer (1964) – the original. It’s a holiday institution.

What’s on your list?

About Marti

After a year-long sabbatical in Southern California I am returning to Ohio to try and resume my life. Who knew you went home again to start living.

Posted on November 30, 2009, in Pop Culture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Christmas in Connecticut (Barbara Stanwyck is terrific here). I’m looking forward to seeing Remember the Night with Barbara Stanwyck and Fred MacMurray this Sunday on TCM. I’m with you on all of the movies on your list and would add It’s a Wonderful Life. I only recently saw this movie after rolling my eyes about what I knew about it (the angels gets its wings line). I couldn’t believe how moved I was by the entire thing. Now, it’s a definite fave.

  2. Fantastic list 🙂

    Home Alone is on my list, as it really gives me such a Christmasy feel especially as it has so many christmas songs in it.

  3. That’s a great list! Shop around the Corner is wonderful and Lifetime movies are the best and cheesiest ever. Good call. 🙂

  4. Oh! And on my list are Die Hard, Muppet Christmas Carol, and The Apartment, and maybe While You Were Sleeping.

  5. I love While you were sleeping, can’t believe I forgot that one, then again I did limit myself to 10.

Leave a Reply

