What I Want to Be When I Grow Up?

I have struggled to find a career I am passionate about since I graduated from college.

I have a B.A. in journalism I knew I wasn’t going to use, in the traditional way. I stumbled into a career in marketing, at which I’m very proficient but don’t really count myself on a definite career track. I also have a master’s degree I don’t presently use. It’s all a hodge-podge, mish-mash of experience, industry and skills. How it all fits together, I have no idea.

I know at work I enjoy a challenge, creativity, time to work alone, and working on something I believe in. I can’t have just a job. I have to feel motivated by the product or cause at hand. Yet, this is all very vague and lacking in a specific direction, vocation or industry.

So what do I want to be when I grow up? I honestly don’t know. I feel like I could do a myriad of things. So what makes a job satisfying, maybe its more than the tasks. I know environment counts for a lot. The people you work with are a huge factor. But in this economy can you afford to be choosy? Or do you have to take what comes your way? I have to believe it does matter that there are still career dreams to be fulfilled.

In this “down” time while I’m helping my dad and watching my nephews I have decided to explore my options, my heart and try to figure out what’s next in my life. What do I want to be? Where do I want to be? Who do I want to be?

All big lofty questions and perhaps a bit rhetorical. But I need to get focused on my life and what I want to be instead of getting lost in other people’s dreams, ambitions and needs. Some of this feels a bit selfish. But I don’t want to wake up in six years, when I’m 40, wondering what the hell I’m doing still babysitting my nephews.

Rather than just fall into something else I want to be a little more deliberate this time. Maybe I know myself a bit better this time around. I hope I’ve learned something about myself in the last 16 years, since I last addressed this topic at 18. So I’m going to explore personality, interests, passions, and long-lost dreams to try and figure it all out.

About Marti

After a year-long sabbatical in Southern California I am returning to Ohio to try and resume my life. Who knew you went home again to start living.

Posted on July 31, 2009, in About Me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I feel the same way, I have a Peace Officer Cert. an AA in Business, and I am working towards my BS in Human Resources, and I still don’t know what I want to be or do. I currently work in the Marketing Dept. (doing only Admin, zero Marketing). I’m thinking of continuing my schooling for my Masters and maybe I can teach. I’m 40, and as I get older I’m feeling as if I want to give something back. To go to work everyday and help other people. To go the extra mile, spend some of my free time, tutoring youngsters. Helping them become the leaders of tomorrow. Then I look around and think that maybe I should do something in politics. and I’ve always wanted to master a foreign language, French/Spanish/Chinese and find work on the side that for that. I had my two son’s, so that’s done. I’ve been married, that’s done. I write and self-publish books and make jewerly, but hobbies DON’T pay the bills. Sometimes I feel I just want to move to a foreign countryside and open up a small store, and live above the store. But who am I kidding… I guess one day, I’ll figure it out.

Leave a Reply

