Ode to 2008

The time has come to bid a fond adieu to 2008.

It was the best of times and the worst of times.

I’ve blogged about the big-bad things ad nauseum – leaving California and all my wonderful friends, adjusting to Ohio, and visiting California as much as possible.

I’m choosing to focus on other things that happened this year. I decided to do some marketing as a contractor. It was great to have my own schedule but dealing with different personalities was challenging. Basically I’m not enough of a diplomat to do it. I don’t like having to be so nice and accomodating all the time. It just isn’t in my nature. I’m not that nice. However, I did get to go to Georgia, a place I’ve never been. It also faciliated my trip to Savannah. I have been dying to get to Savannah for years, and I got to go with one of my favorite people, Debbie.

I’m working with my dad right now. He bought two businesses in August. We were working 16-hour days trying to get ahead and figure out what the heck we’re doing. We’re finally starting to get some traction. I am believing that 2009 will be a good year for us. We have some great ideas and good help. Phew.

My sanity, at two points in the year, came in the form of two friends that braved the wild frontier and visited me here in Ohio. Lisa came in May, her first trip to Ohio in her whole life. Shocker, can’t imagine never having been to the great state of Ohio. We had a whirlwind tour of all the highlights. Erika came in September. We went to Pittsburgh and to visit her grandma who lives in nearby Elyria. How great is it to have friends that you can just pick up where you left off. There is no pretense, entertaining or BS. It’s just honesty, sincerity and unconditional love.

The past 10 months in Ohio have also been a tough yet good time with family. I have gotten to babysit for my nephews a lot. They are both crazy, so much fun and test every nerve I have. Yet, when I don’t seem them at least every other day I go through withdrawls. I have also seen a different side of my parents. Rather than slipping into the role I’ve played my entire life I’m able to just be me, which is so much easier. Another sign all the therapy paid off.

There are also things that stay the same regardless of where I am – I still have no idea what I want to be when I grow up. I still have no idea where I’m going to end up. I’m still single. These familiar friends are still with me. No idea when those will be resolved. I am learning to be more comfortable with the ambiguity.

I don’t regret my decision to move here to Ohio. I am beginning to make new friends here. I’ve nearly stopped comparing everything to California. I’m trying to move on and embrace this season of life right where God has me now – Ohio. I don’t want to miss the good because I’m wishing I was somewhere else.

I am looking forward to 2009 with anticipation and excitement. I believe its going to be a good year, perhaps not what we expect but full of new adventure and opportunities for growth. How is that? LOL. I’m downright pollyanna and optomistic. Not bad.

About Marti

After a year-long sabbatical in Southern California I am returning to Ohio to try and resume my life. Who knew you went home again to start living.

Posted on December 31, 2008, in Friendshipping, Mi Familia and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Isn’t it crazy…I always feel as though I haven’t done much in one year, but then you start thinking about it and writing it out and you realize how busy of a year you had! I like your idea and I’m going to take some time and write out some of the things I did/experienced this past year. Happy New Year Marti!

  2. you have no idea how encouraging it is to read this. i know some days are more optimistic than others, but i think i hear the creakings of a basic paradigm shift here…
    i’m looking forward to another visit sometime, hopefully sooner than later.

  3. Love you, Marti! You know when I started looking back at 2008 I saw a lot of pain too… but when I decided to focus on the good… I saw that too! Funny how that works. Praying for you… and that God will put us in the same city again one day! 🙂

  4. Julie – Its amazing all the things that happen in a year that you forget about, that’s why a blog is great helps you keep track.

    Erika – I think my paradigm is shifting a bit. I’m a bit more resigned to this being my life right now and just trying to enjoy it for what it is.

    Tina – Sometimes you have to look for the good. It’s there but hides in the shadows sometimes.

  5. Sounds like you’re off to a better start of 2009 than I! Of course I did write my blog post yesterday from work where it felt like my very life was being sucked away as I sat in my wretched little cubical with nothing better to do than write a post. 🙂 Hopefully things will be more back to normal next week and I can start to enjoy the year. Can’t wait to hear more about what God does in your life this coming year! I should’ve mentioned that this year God brought me some interesting new friends through the blogosphere as well! 🙂

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

