Jesus is ironic

Jesus and I have been having lots of conversations lately about finding quality boys in Ohio, and the difficult job that is. I think he just listens, shakes his head and laughs at me. I didn’t really hear anything definitive from him until this last Friday. I went to an event at church, all of the usual people were there.

So half way through the service I notice someone new. He was just my type – tall, dark hair, football-player build. I saw that he was there with a friend and the requisite single-girl scan revealed that he didn’t have a ring on, great. But I quickly chastised myself for noticing a boy in the midst of a praise and worship service, and I resumed my intended task of focusing on God. Of course, everytime time you try and avoid something its all you can think about. Soon my eye has wandered back to where he was sitting, maybe this is why Jesus tells us to chop off the offending parts of our body. But anyway, I notice that he’s totally into the service – he raises his hands, he closes his eyes, oooh this boy loves Jesus, sweet.

After the service I see that he knows several people I know. But I’m not going to be obvious. Yet there is something about a new boy that makes you revert to high school. I’m all aflush and intrigued. But I try to dismiss it, if I meet him, I meet him. No big deal. So I’m walking around talking to people and then his friend brings him over to introduce him to my dad, who then calls me over to meet him – yea! My inner 16 year-old was very excited.

It was a short-lived elation. He’s a Spanish teacher – who loves Mexico. That’s the worst news for me, my years in Mexico were the worst of my life. I don’t like to speak in Spanish. I know I have issues around the subject, that’s no secret to anyone who knows me.

So imagine my dismay when my dad informs him that we lived there and that’s all he wants to talk about with me. When I told him that I don’t remember much Spanish, he actually offers to help me revive my dormant language skills. I pass.

Yea, Jesus is ironic like that. A cute, single boy who only wants to speak to me in Spanish about Mexico.

Not funny Jesus, so not funny.

About Marti

After a year-long sabbatical in Southern California I am returning to Ohio to try and resume my life. Who knew you went home again to start living.

Posted on September 28, 2008, in Single Serving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. YES FUNNY! clearly this means he is perfect for you. just it’s another you that you’re currently not acquainted with. mwah-hah-hah-haaaaah.

  2. LOL – you are not funny either.

  3. Ah, but it’s not as if he CAN’T speak English! Maybe he was just searching for common ground to talk to you and the whole Spanish/Mexico thing was all he could come up with because you just met… I’m just saying. 🙂

    I suffer the same weight here in PA. There are little-to-no single, Christian men over the age of 30 in my immediate area. Still, I have no doubt that this is where God wants me right now – I just struggle to understand why. I’ll let you know if I have any stories of Jesus being ironic in my world as it’s bound to happen. 🙂

  4. I agree with Deb…he’s just trying to make conversation, find common ground. But yes, Jesus does have a sense of humor and maybe, just maybe…He’s using this new guy to try to make you laugh a little too. 🙂

  5. you’re right; i am not funny. i am HILARIOUS.

  6. I’m going along with Deb. Clearly English is his first language, your Dad can be blamed for overblowing the Mexico gig connection, he loves Jesus, you know lots of people in common who you can start asking quesitons of. WHY o WHY Missy do you put up road-blocks before you are even out of the starting gate ?? Take a chance, expose your heart, if for no other reason than this cutie knows other cuties… he didn’t arrive in a vacume.

  7. I wasn’t completely dismissing him, chances are I won’t see him again, no big deal.

Leave a Reply

