O.C. Fires

OC Wildfires

Tina and I spent the day at Disneyland. The 60 mph winds made it hard to walk and debris was constantly flying into our eyes. For a moment on the ferris wheel, in California Adventure, we wondered if we were going to blow off. It was insanely windy. The Santa Anas are a’blowin’.

On our way home, on the 5 South, we saw the sky fill with thick, black clouds, but in Anaheim couldn’t see the source of it. We had no idea if there was a building on fire or what. But as we approached the Orange Crush the air got thicker and darker. Finally as we came upon the Tustin Market Place, at Jamboree, we could see the flames.

The hills near the 241 freeway were on fire. We live in that direction. We wondered how close they are to our house. So we popped on KNX 1070 and learned that the 241 at the 133 was closed and that the fire was blowing towards Irvine.

It is headed in our general direction. On OCRegister.com we learned that officials are going to start bulldozing trenches in Whiting Ranch, the one thing right now that protects us from the fires. So it’s about 7 miles away from us. There are a lot of buildings between us and the fires but it is a little close for comfort.

So it made me wonder, what would I take if I have to evacuate? The first thought that came to mind is my computer. It has all of my photos on it, grad school files, partial journals, etc. My second thought was my jewelry – the nice stuff my parents have given me for birthdays and graduations. My third thought was my journals. I’ve been keeping a journal since I was 12, so I have about 40 journals containing my inner most thoughts, feelings and dreams.

The rest of it, who cares. It’s just stuff that can be replaced. But I did pack a little bag, just in case. I gotta have clean underwear.

About Marti

After a year-long sabbatical in Southern California I am returning to Ohio to try and resume my life. Who knew you went home again to start living.

Posted on October 21, 2007, in Life in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

