Too old for London

On one of my recent flights of fancy I decided to indulge my lifelong desire of moving to London.

I don’t know why I want to move to London, no real logical reason, I just do.

So I joined a yahoo group appropriately called, Moving to London. Helpful posts from others trying to move made mention of the Highly Skilled Migrant Programme (HSMP) visa, which allows you to move to London to look for worth without obtaining employment sponsorship. This is a much easier route, if you qualify on the 75 point system. Points are awarded based on: age, current salary, educational background, previous UK living experience, etc.

At the end of the very short questionnaire I learned that I only generated 65 points, what killed me? My age. That’s right, over 30 and you get no points at all. If I want to qualify I either need to start earning more money here or go get an MBA from one of the selected schools.

The thought of going back to grad school to get an MBA makes me tired. So it’s back to the drawing board on how I can move to London.

About Marti

After a year-long sabbatical in Southern California I am returning to Ohio to try and resume my life. Who knew you went home again to start living.

Posted on July 26, 2007, in About Me, Life in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Your story is no different then many others but slight different to mine. My age is below 30 but i got 0 points for earning since my per anum salary is less than 10K pounds

    I have recognised MBA but not from the selected schools they stated… Does it mean I wont qualify for the master degree points?

  2. I think you still get points for the MBA, but if you had gone to a recognized school you would have automatically qualified for the HSMP visa. Be aware that they are changing the point system again in 2008. You can log onto their web site to get all the detailed info.

  3. if you’re serious i can e-mail introduce you to a girl i know who successfully made the London move. she’s been there for about 4 years now, i think.

  4. I don’t know if I”m serious or not, depends on the day, and my state of restlessness.

  5. Hey…I saw you came to my blog via the “next” button on your dashboard and I thought to take a look.

    This was my last template so I like it! And we are also thinking of moving to England although I am not set on London. I would be interested to know more about how your found this point system thingy…I am studying to be a nurse, an RN and want to move to practice my nursing. What Yahoo group thing did you find? Can you give me the URL? I am also over 30, sadly, and am tad miffed that England only wants young ex-pats!

    The only thing we don’t have in common is the bible thing so don’t be offended, everyone has a right to what they believe in and think, if you stop by my blog. I am very anti-religion but not anti-people who like it. Fair warning.

    xx

  6. Hey Cole – thanks for checking out my blog 🙂 The next button is an addicting one. I found the “Moving to London” yahoo group simple by typing that same phrase into Google. The link is: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/movingtolondon/. There are posts in the group about immigration and visas. Then I did another google search on HSMP visa and clicked around until I found a form to fill out and test my eligibility. Go to http://www.hsmp-visa.com as a place to start.

    I was very sad that being over 30 made it difficult to me to qualify for the visa. I know there has to be another way. Perhaps I’ll marry an EU citizen, then its a win-win for both of us. He gets US citizenship and I get EU citizenship – it’s a thought. I’m kidding INS, don’t start tracking me.

    Happy info surfing 🙂

Leave a Reply

