My Top 50ish Movies

Tina and Lisa are listing their top 60 movies, of all time on their blogs and invited me to join in. How could I resist? A chance to list my favorite movies, I’m in.

Then I started to think about all the movies I really love and that have impacted me in some way or another by their humor, social conscience, story or characters and I found that I could only think of 50 that I would categorize as my top movies.

So here are my top 50 movies in random order:

1. Philadelphia Story (the 1940 version not the 1952 musical)
2. Grease
3. The Red Violin
4. Crash
5. Memento
5. Singin’ in the Rain
6. When Harry Met Sally
7. Stranger Than Fiction
8. Pride and Prejudice – the BBC and Keira Knightley versions
9. 50 First Dates
10. The Break-Up
11. Billy Elliot
12. Little Miss Sunshine
13. Princess Bride
14. While You Were Sleeping
15. Forrest Gump
16. Shall We Dance
17. Good Will Hunting
18. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
19. To Kill a Mockingbird
20. My Fair Lady
21. Groundhog Day
22. Roman Holiday
23. Emma
24. I was a Male War Bride
25. Let’s Make Love
26. Wedding Date
27. Two for the Road
28. The Shawshank Redemption
29. Gigi
30. Pirates of the Carribean I
31. The Passion of the Christ
32. Four Weddings and a Funeral
33. Sense and Sensibility
34. Amelie
35. Presumed Innocent
36. Somewhere in Time
37. Wedding Singer
38. Amadeus
39. Steel Magnolias
40. The Color Purple
41. My Family
42. Real Women Have Curves
43. Finding Neverland
44. My Big Fat Greek Wedding
45. Sixteen Candles
46. Upside of Anger
47. Under the Tuscan Sun
48. Elizabethtown
49. The Cutting Edge
50. Before Sunrise
51. Fried Green Tomatoes

P.s. I just noticed that I have five listed twice but i’m not going to fix it instead I’m going to add one I forgot at 51

About Marti

After a year-long sabbatical in Southern California I am returning to Ohio to try and resume my life. Who knew you went home again to start living.

Posted on June 6, 2007, in Pop Culture. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This was interesting. I may have to do this in my own blog (another time though as I just wrote an entire post about my favorite eateries!).

    I enjoyed seeing your list. We share many favorites: #1, 2, 6, 14, 15, 19, 20, 22, 23, 37, 38 39, 40, 43, 49.

    #33 (Sense and Sensibility) is one of my most favorite movies ever.

  2. Movies are great! I can’t wait to see your list when your fingers rest from coming up with local restaurants 🙂

Leave a Reply

