But he’s a good Christian

I’ve decided that it’s time to dip my toe back into the dating pond. It’s been a year and a half since my last relationship and my friend Doug was right, the men of the world have been deprived of me for far too long. LOL. Too funny.

But seriously, I’m at a point where I’m emotionally healthier and psychologically available. Or at least so I think.

Now as I talk to friends and colleagues about this they’re quick to point out potential suitors in our midst. I’m realizing that I’m not surrounded by very many single men that I’d consider dating, many of them are 12 (or in their early 20s) or just not appropriate. But as I discuss my views I am routinely reminded of one fact that is supposed to trump all other dating quandries, but he’s a good Christian.

Ok, what does that really have to do with anything? That is the baseline of any guy I’d consider dating it’s not the only criteria.

Let’s take this logic out to other arenas. Say, for example, you’re looking for a job in electrical engineering (randomly chosen) and your friends keep bringing you jobs in sales, maintenance, zoo keeping, or in the fast food business. You’d politely remind them that you would like an electrical engineering job. Now if they replied, but it’s a job, why aren’t you applying. Are you being too picky because you want an electrical engineering job? No, we would never say that.

Example #2 – When we’re out searching for a home you don’t settle for something that’s too small, in the wrong neighborhood or too expensive simply because it’s a house. No, you take your time to find the one that is just right for you. It might not be right for someone else, but its right for you because it suits you.

So just because a guy is a good Christian it doesn’t make him compatible. You don’t chuck out all the other things you’d like to have in a mate when he matches in one area. It’s still about chemistry, life goals, a sense of humor and all the other intangibles that let you know you want to move forward and help you weather all the ups and downs. See that is why finding the right one is almost a miracle.

About Marti

After a year-long sabbatical in Southern California I am returning to Ohio to try and resume my life. Who knew you went home again to start living.

Posted on May 7, 2007, in Single Serving. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You need to write a book on this one!! It could be all examples… b/c there are so many. Thanks for putting this into print!

  2. You’re right the examples do abound. Feel free to expound on them in a post 🙂

Leave a Reply

