Graduation Musings

Graduation was amazing.

At one point I wasn’t sure if I wanted to participate and I’m so glad that I did. It was meaningful, exciting and really felt like appropriate closure to one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.

It was great to have my parents and closest friends share it with me. I realized that I didn’t make it to that day alone, but that God gave me a most incredible support system that provided me encouragement, love and frequent kicks in the butt to keep me moving.

I didn’t torture everyone by asking that they attend the graduation ceremony but they did meet me for lunch afterwards at Cafe Santorini in Old Town Pasadena. I was blessed to have all these key people in one place just for a couple of hours.

All weekend I was just on a high. It was a great time to really be grateful for what God has done and how he’s changed me through this experience. I always tells friends that my grad school time was just really expensive therapy. By going to a seminary I gained a new perspective, picture and idea of who God is. Getting a degree from the school of psychology I was able to integrate that new notion into my view of humanity and how we can be healed and made whole, restoring that image of God withing our own understanding of who we are.

Seeing this time and season of my life come to a close is a little bittersweet. I will miss the constant stimulus of being in class with other people passionate about the subject matter. I will miss learning from key researchers, philosophers and mentors.

At the end of the day I just realize how blessed I am. God is good. Now I get to go help others through everything God has shown me. I can’t wait.

Posted on June 14, 2006, in Learning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

