Graduation Announcements

In happy news, I got my graduation announcements in the mail yesterday. WHI-HOO!! More proof that I am really done.

I’m much more excited about this graduation than any other. Well maybe just undergrad. I was thrilled to graduate from high school, cause it meant I got to leave Mexico.

I sent the first announcement to my parents today. I can’t wait. I don’t even know anyone else I’m graduating with but I don’t care. I want to wear the fancy, heavy robes and I think for your master’s you get the cool scarf thing. I’m sure there is a technical name but you know what I mean.

I get to go pick up my regalia at the end of the month. I’m going to wear it everywhere – the grocery store, to watch tv…you think i’m kidding just wait.

Posted on May 4, 2006, in Learning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Believe it or not, the scarf thing is called a hood (it’s descended from English tradition). Check out http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Academic_dress#The_hood for more info.

    Hmmm, I’m trying to imagine someone wearing a graduation hood to Ralphs, Edwards Cinemas, or even In-N-Out. Oh, well – if I’ve seen teenage girls come straight from a slumber party over to Target to go shopping, anything’s possible.

  2. See I said hood in my post about my diploma and someone told me that hoods were for doctoral student – what do they know?? Apparently not that. But I definitely think the hood will keep me warm in the freezer section of Ralph or the chilly theater. It gets cold in there. It’s the perfect accessory. I plan to do the same thing with my wedding dress if I ever get married. You pay so much for a dress you wear once. I’m going to make it so I wear it to the store, out to dinner, at the movies, to work – you name it. I believe in wearing what you’re proud of and what makes you feel good – why can’t it be an academic hood or a wedding dress. LOL

  3. You get to keep your hood? When I graduated with my Masters, the hood had to go back with the cap and gown … within 24 hours, no less! All I got to keep was the tassel!

    I’d check on that to make sure. Don’t want to dissapoint you, but better now than later, I guess.

  4. I don’t get to keep it but I’ll have it for about three weeks. I’ll make sure to use it lots while I have it.

Leave a Reply

