Making Mexican Food

Another right-brained activity that I have decided to embrace is cooking.

I used to bake all the time in high-school but since college I rely on eating out and when I do cook I stick to the three or four things I know how to make. I went out and actually bought stuff to make my but decided to start with a Mexican entree for dinner with Brian last night.

One of my favorite is a chicken dish called Tinga. When I go home my mom will usually try and make it for me. I’ve never made this by myself. Luckily my mom called just as I was starting so she walked me through most of it.

It was fun to talk to her while I cooked. I wished she could have been in the dining room, but I’ll take what I can get. It came out pretty good. I liked it anyway 🙂

It’s always more fun to cook for someone else and a little more nerve-wracking. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve cooked something less than delicious and ate it anyway, just because it was done. But luckily this came out well.

Here’s the recipe if you want to be adventurous:

3-4 Chicken Breasts
Dash of Salt
1 can of Chipotle Chilis
1 can of diced tomatoes (2-3 fresh tomatoes)
1 clove of garlic
2 Tbsp Chicken Boullion (Knorr Suiza)
1 Medium Onion, slice and leave in rings
2-3 Tbsp of Olive Oil
1/4 tsp of Cumin

Boil the chicken in a few cups of water. I flavored the water with salt. Don’t over boil it. When done remove from the water so it will cool, but save the chicken broth you just created.

Once chicken is set aside, in a large skillet heat olive oil. Once warm, add onions and garlic, toast for a minute or two. Add 1-2 cups of chicken broth (you don’t want it to be too soupy), add cumin and chicken boullion. Let it simmer and think about itself for about 15-20 minutes.

In the mean time shread your chicken and set aside.

In a blender – add the tomatoes, and start with a half or one chipotle chili. Remember its easy to make it spicier much harder to make it blander. Keep adding until it’s to your level of spiciness.

Add the tomato mixture to the chicken stock simmering. Let those two flavors marinate for 10-15 minutes or so.

At the end, add the chicken and simmer for 10 minutes or until hot.

This dish is great on a sope with some queso fresco and a dollop of sour cream.

Serve with Spanish Rice.

Posted on December 21, 2005, in Mi Familia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

