Awfulizing

Today I learned a new word from my favorite new show Starting Over.

The word is awfulizing. Awfulizing is to see something, expect the worst and then start talking about it as if the worst has already happened.

I do that, all the time. I can admit I exagerate and most of the time do so to an extreme to prove a point. However, more often than not I exagerate and I believe what I’m saying. “That was the worst, ever?” Was it really the worst, probably not. That is of course a trivial example but the sentiment is the same. I can make something temporary feel permanent. I can take a small situation and make it monumental. It’s a form of self-sabotage and self-fulfilling prophecy.

I usually do it to avoid vulnerability and to avoid being hurt. But in the end I just miss out on life, the joys inherent to the highs and low.

I need to work on that.

Posted on June 21, 2005, in Pop Culture, Psychobabbling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

