Nephew Withdrawal

I am going through severe nephew withdrawal, so I was going to post Mikey’s latest addition to my art collection. But Hello won’t let me post it. I have no idea what’s going on. But just to let you know, it is of Thomas the train that is his favorite. Mikey is the 6 year old, who just started first grade. His favorite things to do are: draw, try and play musical instruments and man oh man does he love tv. His favorite cartoon is Spiderman. He is very precocious and has an answer for everything.Last time I talked to my brother Mike, Mikey was having trouble adjusting to his new school. The poor kid has already been to three schools. One for pre-school in Mexico City. One for kindergarten in Punxsutawney, PA. Now this one in Ohio for first grade. I feel for him. We moved like that as kids too. I told my brother that I hope he’s settled for a while. I know he isn’t moving just for the sake of moving, but it’s rough always being the new kid.

I forget how backwards Ohio can be. There are a lot of rednecks in the making, who like to pick on the little brown boy because his food is different from theirs. Mikey asks to take mexican food for lunch and they tell him it smells funny and that its weird. Their comments don’t phase him. He takes it like a trooper and tells them – “hey, my mom makes this especially for me, not you. I’m not asking you to eat it, so why does it matter to you what I eat.” My sister-in-law doesn’t have the heart to tell him its just a burrito from the frozen food section. I wish I had that kind of confidence now, let alone at six. Pretty amazing for a kid that just learned to speak english last year.

My protective instinct goes WAY UP when I hear stories about kids picking on him. I want to beat up their parents, since you know that’s where it comes from. Although who am I kidding, kids are just mean sometimes. Mikey is a sensitive little kid too, has an artistic flair. I don’t want him to lose that just to conform. They are very careful though to make sure he has room to be himself, which is good.

I think I’m going to call him now to say hello.

Posted on September 24, 2004, in Mi Familia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

