Abusement Park

I was reading Ms. Jen’s blog the other day and floored by a new term I had never heard before but it applies to so many stupid relationship things I do. I have been using it ever since. This new vocabulary phrase is: Abusement Park. Here is her post, which explains the term. I encourage you to visit her blog.

On Friday, I was in the car with two friends who were discussing an event the night before where the Guy in question attempted to convince his ex to come back to him to no avail:

Girl: You went to the Abusement Park last night.
Guy: Yeah.
Me: The Abusement Park?!?!?!

What a perfect expression. We have all done it. We have all had someone we loved who didn’t love us back or who does but it is definitely over, but yet we keep trying to buy “E” tickets to what we think is the best ride at the Abusement Park. Amusing, terribly sad, and painful all at the same time.

I definitely took a trip to the Abusement Park this last week. I had a moment of weakness and called my ex. We proceeded to have a two hour conversation about why we aren’t together and what was wrong with our relationship. That was tedious, infuriating and stupid. I don’t want to get back together. I don’t know why I did it.

Have you been to the Abusement Park lately?

Posted on September 22, 2004, in Psychobabbling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

