I’m an ISFJ??!!!

I’ve taken the Myer’s Brigg test at least five times over the last five years. At least three of those times that test was administered professionally and every single time the result has been the same – INFJ.I mostly agreed with the results. INFJs are gentle, caring, complex and highly intuitive individuals. Artistic and creative, they live in a world of hidden meanings and possibilities. Only one percent of the population has an INFJ Personality Type, making it the most rare of all the types. I liked being rare and unique.

Then today I retook the test and got a different result. The change of just one letter and wham-o completely different results. I retook the test five times just today and each time it was the same – ISFJ. I even took it on two different sites. One here and another here. I know these aren’t professional, but they still contain some objective factor that leads me to look at myself in a little different way.

I read everything i could find on ISFJ’s. This was the common consensus: ISFJs are warm, kindhearted individuals who want to believe the best of people and they bring an aura of quiet warmth, caring, and dependability to all that they do. They live in a concrete world and value harmony and cooperation, and are likely to be very sensitive to other people’s feelings. People value the ISFJ for their consideration and awareness, and their ability to bring out the best in others by their firm desire to believe the best. Other things about ISFJ’s can be found here and here and here or here. I keep finding more and the more I read the more it sounds like me. How funny.

Wow, I guess I am changing, who knew??!!!

Have you taken the Myers Brigg test? What are your letters? Do you feel it accurately reflects you?

5 Comments:

Jeremy said…
I’m an INTP last I took the test (some sort of management training seminar from the Nevada days), but I was really weak on one letter. My opinion on those tests is they’re less about telling you about yourself and more about filling time in a one-day seminar because, frankly, the presenter doesn’t have enough material. Because we never went in-depth enough for it to have any kind of meaning.

12:53 PM
Marti said…
INTP – interesting.

I have to say that I disagree with you about their effectiveness and place. Personality tests, when administered by someone who knows what they’re doing, can be very effective instruments. When used in a one-day seminar the analysis I’m sure was a little shallow.

In the Myer’s Brigg when you’re weak in one area it usually means that you have characteristics of both letters. SO try reading the other profile that corresponds and see if that one fits you. It is normal to be in the middle on at least one letter. Might also mean that you need a little more self-awareness in that area 😛

1:09 PM
Jeremy said…
That’s weird, I think they told us that it was good to be balanced on a letter or two. In fact, I think they told us it was good to be balanced on all letters. I thought that weird at the time, because it would seem to make us like this little Prozac nation where we’re all even keeled and there’s no spice to life.

4:41 PM
Joanna said…
Okay Marti…you got me curious. I don’t think I’ve ever taken a Meyers-Briggs so I did. I’m an INTJ. The descriptions seem pretty accurate. Here’s my favorite piece of analysis since it was the most accurate.

“They tend to be much more self-confident than the rest, having, for obscure reasons, developed a very strong will. They are rather rare, comprising no more than, say, one percent of the population. Being very judicious, decisions come naturally to them; indeed, they can hardly rest until they have things settled, decided, and set.”

6:57 PM
Marti said…
LOL – prozac nation … balanced on the tests just mean you have a balanced personality. Not too extreme in anything since each letter represents a polarity, where you fall on that scale just means you’re more dominant in one area or another. I don’t think anyone would ever be completely balanced, that would be like reaching Maslow’s self-actualized level. Just a goal, an ideal.

Posted on September 15, 2004, in About Me, Psychobabbling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

