True Friend

You know, I think I’ve figured out what makes a great friend – someone who sees you in a positive way that you can’t see yourself.

Through their eyes you find new things to love about yourself that prevent you from believing all the bad things that creep into your brain. It can shed light on a situation or aspect of your personality that you’ve always seen as broken or insurmountable, but they reveal something new that went undiscovered until they had the insight to voice it outloud. It’s almost a challenge then to find the person inside you that they see and you can’t.

This past week I’ve had a deluge of people tell me things about me that I found surprising, some good and some bad. But last night I had an amazing conversation with someone who’s known me for a long time and helped me get a new perspective. It’s God’s grace and mercy that put these people in our lives that inspire us to not give into the lies that are much easier to believe about who we are.

I only hope I can be half as good a friend to him.

Posted on September 12, 2004, in Friendshipping. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

