Call from Jordy

This morning I awoke to the sound of birds in my room. I was disoriented for a minute and then realized I forgot to turn off my phone and that is my ring-tone for my mother. Why is she calling me so early?

I answered the phone with a very indignant – what??!! Then a little voice said – A-A-a-aunt Marti – immediately I was happy for the disruption.
“Is this Jordy?” I asked.
“Uh huh, I-I-I love you,” he said. My heart melted. How great is it to wake up to love from a three-year old.
“I love you too Jordy, I miss you,” I replied.
Then he asked, “I-I-I want to know when you’re coming back to my house?” Again more heart melting and an urgent need to run to LAX overtook my whole body.

My mom said that they were watching tv and Jordy asked her where I was. She told him that the plane took me home. Then he said he wanted to call me by himself. I miss him terribly. Nothing is better than the unconditional love from a child.

About Marti

After a year-long sabbatical in Southern California I am returning to Ohio to try and resume my life. Who knew you went home again to start living.

Posted on September 11, 2004, in Mi Familia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

